Delio Elected Medical Society President


December 3, 2009

Philip R. Delio, M.D., Medical Director of the Stroke Program at Santa Barbara Neuroscience Institute has been elected 2010 President of the Santa Barbara County Medical Society.  The 500-physician member organization, which promotes quality health care in the community and provides a countywide referral service for the public, includes physicians of all specialties throughout the county.  Dr. Delio has been an active member of the Society for six years.  He resides in Santa Barbara with his wife Marina and their daughter.


Dr. Delio, a board certified neurologist and Director of Stroke Services, Santa Barbara Cottage Hospital, has practiced in Santa Barbara County since 2003.  He received his B.S. degree from Stanford University and his Medical Degree from Georgetown University School of Medicine.  He completed his residency and a cerebrovascular fellowship at Stanford Medical Center.  In addition to his private practice, he serves as Associate Director of Stroke Services at Cottage Rehabilitation Hospital, on the board of Cottage’s Medical Advisory Panel, and also the American Heart Association, Santa Barbara Chapter.   

Members of the Medical Society’s executive committee are Dr. Sharon Basham, president-elect, Dr. Dante Pieramici, secretary, Dr. Ayesha Shaikh, treasurer, and Dr. Greg Gaitan, immediate past president.  Other officers are Dr. Thomas Aguirre, Dr. Michele Armet, Dr. Daniel Fox, Dr. Graham Hurvitz, Dr. Christopher Lumsdaine, Dr. John McCaffery, Dr. John Sawyer, and Dr. Steven Yao.